Robert Kaplan: Revenge of Geography book club

Image

Robert Kaplan is coming to the Fletcher School of Law and Diplomacy in January to talk about his new book, the Revenge of Geography.  Earlier this month Fletcher gave students free copies of the book.  Even though I’ve already read it, and own it as a kindle file, I now have an actual paperback copy.

Robert Kaplan is one of my heroes, so when I found out he was coming to my school it was a bit like Christmas.  Also, it turns out that one of my Professors knows him personally, so my mind was a little bit blown.  I first read him when I was an undergrad at Appalachian State University, and it completely changed the way that I look at the world, and introduced me to ideas about how the map is changing, how ungoverned places affect security, and inspired me because unlike most writers he was actually visiting the places he wrote about.  My favorite work by him is also the first one I read, The Ends of the Earth: From Togo to Turkmenistan, from Iran to Cambodia, a Journey to the Frontiers of Anarchy.  I recommend it highly.

The Revenge of Geography is also quite good.  There is a sense that in the modern globalized world geography matters less and less, but this book makes a strong argument that this is not so.  Also, the recent issues with China’s new air defense identification zone, and now South Korea expanding theirs, shows we haven’t moved beyond geopolitics.  I look forward to reading it again and trying to think of a good question to ask him.

 

About Leon Whyte

I'm a recent graduate of the Fletcher school of Law and Diplomacy. My interests include Pacific Asia and Security. I am looking for related opportunities.
This entry was posted in geopolitics, Student Life and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Robert Kaplan: Revenge of Geography book club

  1. Wonderful blog! I found it while browsing on Yahoo News.
    Do you have any tips on how to get listed in Yahoo News?
    I’ve been trying for a while but I never seem to get there!

    Appreciate it

  2. Sheena says:

    I really like it when individuals come together and share views.
    Great site, keep it up!

  3. Good web site you’ve got here.. It’s hard tto find
    excellent writing like yours these days.

    I seriously appreciate individuals like you! Take
    care!!

  4. You are so interesting! I do not think I have read through something like that before.
    So great to discover somebody with a few unique thoughts on this topic.
    Seriously.. many thanks for starting this up.
    This website is one thing that is needed on the web, someone with
    some originality!

  5. Hi it’s me, I am also visiting this site daily,
    this site is actually good and the visitors are really sharing good thoughts.

  6. Very nice post. I simply stumbled upon your weblog and wished to mention that I’ve truly
    enjoyed surfing around your weblog posts. In any case I will be subscribing to your rss feed and I am
    hoping you write again soon!

Leave a Reply

