Merrill Newman goes home

When I lived in South Korea, there were a few times that I had considered going to visit North Korea.  I was never that serious about it, but the idea of going to a place that is so shut off, and so completely different than any other, has an obvious appeal.  At that time, to be honest, the price was one major reason that I didn’t go, but the more I learn about North Korea the less I think visiting it is a good idea for moral and practical reasons.  That’s not a huge revelation.

I am glad to hear that Merrill Newman can come home, I’m hoping Kenneth Bae will join him soon.  Tourism is a great way for the Kim family to get some cash will getting to show foreigners looking with awe at the various images of the Dear Leader.  The more you know about the Dear Leader, or what the regime does with the cash it gets, the harder it is to justify taking a holiday in the DPRK.

About Leon Whyte

I'm a recent graduate of the Fletcher school of Law and Diplomacy. My interests include Pacific Asia and Security. I am looking for related opportunities.
Link | This entry was posted in Korea, Pacific Asia and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

